In-State Residency Determinations
Persons applying for resident classification must complete a Residency Application and supply supporting documentation by the official first day of class for the semester in which residency is being requested. A complete application takes approximately three weeks to be processed; however, this turnaround may be extended during peak periods.
The South Carolina Commission on Higher Education requires Coastal Carolina University to determine the resident status of each student for tuition and fee purposes. This page provides information related to South Carolina resident requirements. Students claiming South Carolina resident status for tuition and fee purposes must complete the required residency section of the Application for Undergraduate Admission.
The initial determination of a student’s resident status is made at the time of admission. Students who fail to complete the residency section of the application will be classified as pending or non-residents. Additional information may be requested from students who have recently relocated to South Carolina or who fail to complete the residency section in its entirety. The burden of proof rests with students to show evidence to establish and maintain their residency status.
If you have additional questions or need further clarification regarding your potential eligibility for South Carolina resident status, please contact Coastal Carolina University's residency officer.
Residency - FAQ
No, nothing is automatic about residency. Students have to meet the requirements, submit their applications, and be approved before any changes are made.
No. A student living in Coastal Carolina University housing is automatically ineligible to claim SC residency (University Place is considered Coastal Carolina University housing.) Students must live outside of Coastal Carolina University housing for 12 months before they are eligible to apply for SC residency.
For independent students, not by itself; the other requirements still have to be met. For parents of dependent students, SC has to be the primary state of residence. Living in a residence owned by parents does not, in and of itself, constitute a permanent residence; as an independent person, the student must either be listed as an owner on the deed and responsible for 1/2 the mortgage or a legal tenant with an official lease, paying a reasonable, market price for rent. The student must be responsible for utilities.
No. That is considered money coming from elsewhere, and doesn't count toward making them independent. The support has to come from the sources listed in the requirements.
No. Those loans are applied for and awarded to the parents, so it's their money that they give to students.
Not unless they have been made your legal guardians through the court, before age 18. Be aware that the law says that if it appears that steps have been taken just to obtain resident tuition, the application will be disapproved.
Not necessarily. You still have to meet the other requirements.
Even though they're in the students' names, since the parents put the money in and they get the tax break, it's considered from the parents.
No, because we don't know where the money came from. It has to come from the sources listed in the requirements.
If you were claimed on someone else's federal taxes as an exemption, and/or if someone else (parents, guardians, spouse) provided more of your support than you did for the last 12 months, then you're still dependent upon them. If no one claimed you on federal taxes and you provided more, then you may be eligible to apply as independent.
A student must obtain a SC driver's license or ID card within 90 days of the date they are claiming intent to become a SC resident. This law is rigid; even 1 day beyond 90 will delay the start date of the 12-month period. A student must register the vehicle(s) in SC within 45 days of the date the student is claiming intent to become a SC resident. This law is rigid; even 1 day beyond 45 will delay the start of the 12-month period. If a student owns a vehicle that is registered in another state, they will not be eligible to apply for SC residency until the vehicle registration is changed to SC.
One exception to the 12-month residency period is full-time employment in SC - must be at least 37.5 hours per week, 50 weeks per year, at one job or eligibility for full-time benefits verified by employer on company letterhead. A student claiming this would still need to include the same documentation proving residency, but would not have to wait 12 months to become eligible for in-state tuition.
Office of Admissions
Coastal Carolina University
PO Box 261954
Conway, SC 29528-6054
100 Chanticleer Drive East