facebook icon twitter youtube

Sustainability Council

The Sustainability Council at Coastal Carolina University is a 25 member group charged with setting the vision for sustainability on campus in accordance with the Sustainability Tracking, Assessment and Rating System (STARS) through the Association for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education (AASHE). The Council was established in 2014.

Council Mission

The Sustainability Council advises the President, the Office of Sustainability and the campus community about sustainability in academics, operations and student affairs. The Sustainability Council will be charged with:

  • Assessing the University’s sustainability practices and policies
  • Setting metrics and provide oversight to measure progress using the categories in accordance with the Association for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education (AASHE) Sustainability Tracking, Assessment and Rating System (STARS)
  • Foster connections between academic programs and college operations to enhance student learning outcomes and experiential learning opportunities
  • Encouraging faculty, staff, students and the community to become involved in sustainability efforts
  • Working with University Communication to publicize sustainability efforts internally and externally
  • Assisting in implementing and updating the CCU Sustainability Plan
  • Promoting the CCU Student Green Fund

Sustainability Council Members 2014-2016

Council membership, as recommended by the President and appointed by the Sustainability Coordinator, the vice presidents and the academic deans, includes representatives from the areas of academics, operations, student affairs and the community. The Council consists of a combination of permanent members and fixed term members. Fixed term members serve a 2-year term with eligibility for unlimited reappointment. 

Permanent Members Name Title Email
1 Office of Sustainability Jennifer Sellers Sustainability Coordinator jennifer@coastal.edu
2 Institutional Research, Assessment & Analysis Chris Mee Executive Director of Planning & Research christin@coastal.edu
3 Assessment & Accreditation John Beard Associate Provost johnb@coastal.edu
4 Contractual & Business Services Sandy Baldridge Senior Manager sabaldri@coastal.edu
5 Human Resources & Equal Opportunity Dana Booth Benefits Administrator dbooth@coastal.edu
6 Facilities Planning & Management T. Rein Mungo Director of University Projects & Planning tmungo@coastal.edu
         
Academic Dean Name  Title Email
7 University College Nelljean Rice Dean nrice@coastal.edu
         
Academic At-Large Members Name  Title Email
8 Kimbel Library Jennifer Hughes Associate Librarian/Head of Library Services jhughes@coastal.edu
9 Wall College of Business David Doerring Lecturer, Management & Decision Services ddoerring@coastal.edu
10 Spadoni College of Education Catherine Scott Assistant Professor cscott1@coastal.edu
11 Edwards College of Humanities & Fine Arts David Killoren Visiting Ethicist, Philosophy & Religious Studies dkilloren@coastal.edu
12 College of Science Walter Showers Lab Specialist wshowers@coastal.edu
         
Campus and Public Engagement Name  Title Email
13 Civic Engagement Nick DeStefano Coordinator of Leadership & Civic Engagement ndestefano@coastal.edu
14 Training & Development Kim Raymond Training and Development Manager kraymond@coastal.edu
15 Campus Recreation & Intramurals Layne Davis Outdoor Recreation Coordinator ldavis1@coastal.edu
16 Counseling Services Chris Donevant-Haines Assistant Director  cdhaines@coastal.edu
17 Student - Sustainability Shelby Farmer Eco-Rep Leader slfarme1@coastal.edu
18 Student Government Cameron Driver SGA Vice President csdriver@coastal.edu 
         
Operations Name  Title Email
19 Facilities Planning & Management Shawn Godwin Project Manager, LEED AP sgodwin@coastal.edu
20 Safety & Transportation Greg Weisner Director of Safety & Transportation wweisner@coastal.edu
21 Safety & Transportation Boyd Holt Director of Environmental Health & Safety bholt@coastal.edu
22 Food Services / Aramark Michael Reitman Campus Executive Chef mreitman@coastal.edu
23 Sustainability / Waste Reduction Jeremy Monday Waste Reduction Coordinator jmonday1@coastal.edu
24 Facilities Grounds Tim Shank Superintendent shank@coastal.edu
25 Procurement Services Dean Hudson Director dhudson@coastal.edu

Sustainability Council Contact

Jennifer Sellers, Sustainability Coordinator
sustain@coastal.edu

(843) 349-5041