facebook icon twitter youtube

Learn More

 Women in Philanthropy and Leadership seal


Connect with WIPL

 Join or Donate

 Singleton Building 102

facebook icon twitter icon LinkedIn icon

WIPL Lead the Change GraphicClaire Shipman photo


Claire Shipman (above), Gloria Gaynor and Leeza Gibbons‌‌ are among the amazing speakers for 2015 Women's Leadership Conference February 12-13                            Learn more


Link to Register for Conference and Celebration

WIPL: Growing Strong

In the past eight years, Women in Philanthropy and Leadership for Coastal Carolina University has awarded $140,000 in scholarships to 102 Coastal Carolina students, 23 of whom have received scholarships for the 2014-2015 academic year. These scholarships have been made possible through the support of our members and WIPL donors.

A significant gift from Frugal Princess, Inc., allowed two deserving students to attend the prestigious Washington Internship Institute in Washington D.C. to study global women’s leadership development last year. The third Mr. Scott Pyle and Dr. Pamela Pyle "Make a Difference" Scholarship has been awarded to Darcy Barr, a biology and health promotion double major who aspires to pursue osteopathic medicine, for the fall 2014 semester. She is from Myrtle Beach, S.C.

WIPL reached a milestone in 2013 when the endowed scholarship fund passed the $100,000 mark, generating enough for a $5,000 scholarship to be awarded each year. The first Women in Philanthropy and Leadership Endowed Scholarship has been awarded to Hailey Olson of Williamston, S.C., for the 2014-2015 academic year. She is a senior majoring in health administration. Read about WIPL scholarship recipients

‌‌Plans are under way for the fifth annual Women's Leadership Conference and Celebration of Inspiring Women to be held February 12-13, 2015, at the Sheraton Myrtle Beach Convention Center Hotel. Learn more

Five to be honored at the Celebration of Inspiring Women

As part of the fifth annual Women’s Leadership Conference and Celebration of Inspiring Women, five women with ties to South Carolina will be honored for their outstanding contributions to the state, the nation and the world. The Inspiring Women Awards were created as an important and lasting way to celebrate the incredible achievements of South Carolina women; since the program’s inception, 25 women have been recognized. Joining them will be the 2015 honorees below. The Celebration of Inspiring Women will be held on Friday, February 13, beginning at 6:30 p.m. For tickets, click here.

Gloria Gaynor WIPL 2015 Leeza Gibbons Mary Jackson Barbara Livingston Anne Matthews
Mary A.
Barbara F. Livingston
 Anne L. Matthews